Sri Lanka

Parliament becomes a Constitutional Assembly


Sri Lanka’s parliament has convened today as a Constitutional Assembly (CA) in a move designed to make changes to the constitution promised by President Maithripala Sirisena during his election campaign in early 2015.

The Constitutional Assembly will comprise all Members of Parliament and a Steering Committee consisting of the Prime Minister (Chairman), Leader of the Opposition, Leader of the House, the Minister of Justice, and not more than eleven other Members of the Constitutional Assembly will be formed.

The Steering Committee will make recommendations on a new electoral system, abolition of the Executive Presidency and other issues with an aim to making the constitutional changes before the end of 2017.

As a lawyer who has spent much of his 40 years in politics seeking to make changes to the constitution this will clearly be the zenith of Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe’s career.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact