Parliament ratifies CIS Free Trade Zone


The Armenian Parliament ratified an agreement on a ‘CIS Free Trade Zone’ on Tuesday. The other countries to have signed the agreement are the Russian Federation, Belarus and Ukraine.

Armenia was under some pressure to sign the agreement from Russia and did so despite considerable scepticism from legislators on both sides of the parliament. The government was at pains to stress that this agreement did not affect their desire for European integration.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact