Abdoul Mbaye carries out surprise reshuffle


Prime Minister Abdoul Mbaye has carried out a surprise reshuffle of his Cabinet. The new Cabinet comprises 30 ministers, six more than President Macky Sall has originally committed to and includes 12 new ministers and seven who are departing.

The prime minister said that the increase in ministries was because some departments were too large and the restructuring is designed to improve efficiency. The previous Cabinet was just seven months old.

The full list of the new government as published in Le Soleil is as follows:

Augustin Tine Minister of the Armed Forces
Aminata Touré Minister of Justice and Keeper of the Seals
Awa Marie Coll Seck Minister of Health and Social Action
Pathé Seck Minister of the Interior
Mankeur Ndiaye Minister of Foreign Affairs and Senegalese Abroad
Amadou Kane Minister of Economy and Finances
Thierno Alassane Sall Minister of Infrastructure and Transport
Youssou Ndour Minister of Tourism and Recreation
Mme Mariama Sarr Minister of Women, Children and Women’s Entrepreneurship
Abdoul Aziz Mbaye Minister of Culture
Cheikh Mamadou Abiboulaye Dièye Minister of Communications, Telecommunications
and Digital Economy
Serigne Mbaye Thiam Minister of Education
Abdoulaye Baldé Minister of Agriculture and Rural Equipment
Mme Arame Ndoye Minister of Planning and Local Government
El Hadji Malick Gakou Minister of Commerce, Industry and Informal Sector
Mme Aminata Mbengue Ndiaye Minister of Livestock
Pape Diouf Minister of Fisheries and Maritime Affairs
Aly Ngouille Ndiaye Minister of Energy and Mines
Benoît Sambou Minister of Youth, Employment and Promotion of Civic Values
Abdou Latif Coulibaly Minister for the Promotion of Good Governance and
Government Spokesperson
Mbagnick Ndiaye Minister of Sports
Mme Khoudia Mbaye Minister of Planning and Housing
Mary Teuw Niane Minister of Higher Education and Research
Haydar El Ali Minister of the Environment and Sustainable Development
Mansour Sy Minister of Public Service, Labour and Relations with Institutions
Oumar Guèye Minister of Water and Sanitation
Mamadou Talla Minister of Training, Learning and Crafts
Khadim Diop Minister of Restructuring and Spatial Areas of Flooding
Abdoulaye Daouda Diallo Minister Delegate to the Ministry of Economy and finance in
charge of the Budget
Mme Seynabou Gaye Touré Minister Delegate to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Senegalese
Abroad in charge of Senegalese Abroad
Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact