Cabinet grows to 53 ministers


Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani expanded the size of his Cabinet to 53 ministers yesterday. Five new federal ministers and six new ministers of state were added to the executive.

The new Cabinet will now have 35 federal ministers and 18 ministers of state. It is unclear, however, as to whether some existing ministers will lose their roles and as yet no portfolios have been awarded to the new ministers. The list of those sworn in by President Asif Ali Zardari yesterday is as follows:

New federal ministers:

Qamar Zaman Kaira,
Raja Pervez Ashraf,
Farzana Raja,
Rana Farooq Saeed
Nazar Gondal

New ministers of state:

Raheela Baloch,
Abbas Khan Afridi,
Malik Amad Khan,
Tasnim Ahmad Qureshi,
Syed Samsam Ali Bokhari
Malik Azmat Khan.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact