Cabinet named but not yet installed


President Jovenel Moïse has now appointed his prime minister, Jean Guy Lafontant, and a Cabinet composed of 18 ministers including 5 women.

The prime minister has announced a government programme (in French) which can be found here.

All that is now needed is for a confirmation hearing by the Senate to allow the government to get on with its work of rebuilding the country. Unfortunately a chunk of the Senate aren’t prepared to play ball and so the formation of a new government is currently in limbo.

The names of the new Cabinet should they be confirmed are:

Aviol Fleurant; Minister of Planning and External Cooperation
Jude Alix Patrick Salomon; Minister of Economy and Finance
Carmel André Béliard; Minister of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Rural Development
Fritz Caillot; Minister of Public Works, Transport and Communications
Pierre Marie Du Meny; Minister of Trade and Industry
Pierre Simon Georges; Minister of the Environment
Colombe Emilie Jessy Menos; Minister of Tourism
Heidi Fortuné; Minister of Justice and Public Security
Stéphanie Auguste; Minister of Haitians Living Abroad
Antonio Rodrigue; Minister of Foreign Affairs and Religious Affairs
Max Rudolph Saint-Albin; Minister of the Interior and Territorial Communities
Pierre Josué Agénor Cadet; Minister of National Education and Vocational Training
Roosevelt Bellevue; Minister of Social Affairs and Labour
Marie Greta Roy Clément; Minister of Public Health and Population
Eunide Innocent; Minister for Women’s Affairs and Women’s Rights
Régime Lamur; Minister of Youth and Sports and Civic Action
Limond Toussaint; Minister of Culture and Communication
Hervé Denis; Minister of Defence

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com