Cabinet reshuffle completed


President Paul Kagame has completed a Cabinet reshuffle, the first since his re-election in 2010, although even then he had largely kept the Cabinet from his previous reshuffle in December 2009.

The president has made changes in the Central bank, Trade and Industry, Education, Health and Infrastructure. The most significant change is that of Trade and Industry which the president has given to the former Central Bank governor, Francois Kanimba.

He has merged the Ministry of Environment & Lands with the Ministry of Forestry and Mines. He has also merged the Ministry of Youth with the Ministry of Sports and Culture.

The full list of changes and the new Cabinet as announced by the official government portal are:

Prime Minister : Bernard MAKUZA
Minister of Agriculture and Animals Resources: Dr. M. Agnes KALIBATA
Minister for Eastern African Community: Monique MUKARURIZA
Minister of Health: Dr. Agnes BINAGWAHO
Minister of Internal Security: Sheikh Mussa Fazil HARELIMANA
Minister of Defense: Gen. James KABAREBE
Minister of Natural Resources Land, Forests, Environment and Mining: Stanislas KAMANZI
Minister of Finance and Economic : John RWANGOMBWA
Minister of Disaster Management And Refugees: Gen. Marcel GATSINZI
Minister of Local Government: James MUSONI
Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office in charge of Gender and Family Promotion: Aloysia INYUMBA
Minister of Youth,Sports and Culture: K. Protais MITALI
Minister of Justice: Tharcisse KARUGARAMA
Minister in the President’s Office: Venantia TUGIREYEZU
Minister of Education: Pierre Damien HABUMUREMYI
Minister of Public Service and Labour: Anastase MUREKEZI
Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation: Louise MUSHIKIWABO
Minister in the President’s Office in charge of Information Communication and technologies ICT: Dr. Ignace GATARE
Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office in charge of Cabinet Affairs: Protais MUSONI
Minister of Trade and Industry: Francois KANIMBA
Minister of Infrastructure: Albert NSENGIYUMVA
Minister of State in the Ministry of Local Government, in charge of Community Development and Social Affairs: Christine NYATANYI
Minister of State in the Ministry of Infrastructure in charge of Energy and Water: Eng. U. Coleta RUHAMYA
Minister of State in the Ministry of Education in charge of Primary and Secondary Education : Dr. Mathias HAREBAMUNGU

Other new appointments:

Ambassador Abuja/Nigeria: Joseph HABINEZA
Ambassador Tokyo/Japan: Dr. Charles MURIGANDE
Ambassador Pretoria/South Africa: Vincent KAREGA
Ambassador Geneva/Switzerland: Solina NYIRAHABIMANA
Governor of Rwanda Central Bank: Amb. Claver GATETE
Vice Governor of Rwanda Central Bank: Monique NZANZABAGANWA
Vice Rector in charge of Administration and Finance in National University of Rwanda: Dr. Desiré NDUSHABANDI.
Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Health: Dr. Uzziel NDAGIJIMANA.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact