Cabinet sworn in


Prime Minister Sushil Koirala has today sworn in to office his Cabinet which consists of 21 ministers, eleven from the Nepali Congress (NC) including a state minister and ten from the Communist Party of Nepal (Unified Marxist–Leninist) (CPN–UML).

It has taken the political parties since the 19th November 2013 general election to conclude an agreement on government, elect a Prime Minister and then finally to conclude a Cabinet.

The full list of Cabinet members is as follows:

Sushil Koirala (NC) Prime Minister
Bamdev Gautam (CPN-UML) Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Home Affairs
Prakash Man Singh (NC) Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Local Development
Dr Ram Sharan Mahat (NC) Minister of Finance
Dr Minendra Rijal (NC) Minister of Information and Communications
Mahendra Bahadur Pandey (CPN-UML) Minister of Foreign Affairs
Radha Gyawali (CPN-UML) Minister of Energy
N.P Saud (NC) Minister of Irrigation
Narayan Khadka (NC) Minister of Urban Development
Lalbabu Pandit (CPN-UML) Minister of General Administration
Karna Bahadur Thapa (CPN-UML) Minister of Industry
Khagaraj Adhikari (CPN-UML) Minister of Health and Population
Dala Bahadur Rana (CPN-UML) Minister of Land Reform and Management
Hari Parajuli (CPN-UML) Minister of Agriculture
Purusottam Poudel (CPN-UML) Minister of Youth and Sports
Bhim Acharya (CPN-UML) Minister of Tourism
Chitra Lekha Yadav (NC) Minister of Education
Narahari Acharya (NC) Minister of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs
Mahesh Acharya (NC) Minister of Forest and Soil conversation
Bimalendra Nidhi (NC) Minister of Physical Planning, Works and Transport Management
Tek Raj Gurung (NC) Minister of Labour

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact