Sri Lanka

Cabinet sworn in


The new Cabinet of Sri Lanka has finally been sworn in after delays due to the formation of a national government between the United National Party (UNP) the winners of the general election and the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP).

The full list of Cabinet ministers is as follows:

Ranil Wickremesinghe Prime Minister and Minister of National Policy & Economic Affairs
John Amaratunga Minister of Tourism Development & Christian Affairs
Gamini Jayawickrama Perera Minister of Sustainable Development & Wildlife
Nimal Siripala de Silva Minister of Transport
S.B. Dissanayake Minister of Social Empowerment & Welfare
W.D.J. Seneviratne Minister of Labour and Trade Union Relations
Lakshman Kiriella Minister of University Education & Highways
Anura Priyadharshana Yapa Minister of Disaster Management
Susil Premajayantha Minister of Technology, Technical Education & Employment
Thilak Janaka Marapana Minister of Law and Order & Prison Reforms
Dr Rajitha Senaratne Health, Nutrition & Indigenous Medicine
Ravi Karunanayake Minister of Finance
Mahinda Samarasinghe Minister of Skills Development & Vocational Training
Vajira Abeywardena Minister of Home Affairs
S.B. Nawinne Minister of Internal Affairs, Wayamba Development & Cultural Affairs
Patali Champika Ranawaka Minister of Mega Police & Western Development
Mahinda Amaraweera Minister of Fisheries & Water Resources
Naveen Dissanayake Minister of Plantation Industries
Ranjith Siyambalapitiya Minister of Power & Renewable Energy
Duminda Dissanayake Minister of Agriculture
Wijedasa Rajapaksa Minister of Buddha Sasana
P. Harrison Minister of Rural Economic Affairs
Ranjith Maddumabandara Minister of Public Administration & Management
Gayantha Karunathilake Minister of Parliament Reforms & Media
Sajith Premadasa Minister of Housing & Construction
Arjuna Ranatunga Minister of Ports & Maritime Affairs
M. K. A. D. S. Gunawardana Minister of Lands
P. Digambaram Minister of Upcountry New Villages, Estate Infrastructure
and Community Development
Chandrani Bandara Minister of Women and Children’s Affairs
Thalatha Athukorala Minister of Foreign Employment
Akila Viraj Kariyawasam Minister of Education
D.M. Swaminathan Minister of Resettlement & Hindu Affairs
Chandima Weerakkody Petroleum & Petroleum Gas
Dayasiri Jayasekara Minister of Sports
Sagala Ratnayake Minister of Southern Development
Harin Fernando Telecommunication & Digital Infrastructure
Mano Ganesan Minister of National Dialog
Daya Gamage Minister of Primary Industries
Rauff Hakeem Minister of Urban Development & Water Supply
Rishad Bathiudeen Minister of Industries & Commerce
Kabeer Hashim Public Enterprise Development
Mohamed Hashim Abdul Haleem Minister of Postal Service & Muslim Affairs

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact