Papua New Guinea

Caretaker Cabinet announced


Prime Minister Peter O’Neill has announced his caretaker Cabinet following his recent election by parliament. Further annoucenments are expected and it is possible that the election of the new PM will be overturned by a court ruling following a legal challenge by ex caretaker PM Sam Abal.

The following positions have been announced:

Belden Namah Deputy Prime Minister & Minister for Forest and Climate Change
Don Polye Minister for Finance
William Duma Minister for Petroleum and Energy
Bart Philemon Minister for Public Service and Sports
Sir Puka Temu Minister for Agriculture and Community Development
Sam Basil Minister for Fisheries and Health & HIV Aids
Francis Awesa Minister for Works, Transport and Civil Aviation
Sir Mekere Morauta Minister for State Enterprises
Dr Allan Marat Attorney General & Minister for Justice, Labour and Industrial Relations
John Boito Minister for Internal Security and Correctional Services
Theo Zurecnuoc Minister for Education & Higher Education
Job Pomat Minister for Bougainville Affairs, Inter Government Relations, Commerce and Industry and Housing
Moses Maladina Minister for National Planning, Rural Development & Defence
Ano Pala Minister for Foreign Affairs, Trade and Immigration
Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact