El-Sisi appoints new Cabinet


Prime Minister Ibrahim Mahlab has appointed a 34 member Cabinet in a reshuffle which saw 14 new ministers appointed with a further 20 remaining in their old posts. The Cabinet was sworn in during an early morning ceremony this morning. The Prime Minister was reappointed last week by President Abdel Fattah el-Sisi.

The Ministries of Information and Administrative Development have been removed from the new government and a new ministry for Urban Development has been added. The Ministry of Investment has been reinstated.

Most notable of the changes are Sameh Shoukry in as the new Minister of Foreign Affairs. He was Egypt’s Ambassador to the United States from 2008 to 2012 and the country’s United Nations representative in Geneva from 2005 to 2008.

The Prime Minister has re-instated the portfolio of Investment Minister. This has gone to Ashraf Salman an experienced banker and one of those instrumental in Egypt’s privatisation programme in the 1990s.

The full list of the new Cabinet is published below with the first 14 names marked with an asterisk being the newly appointed Ministers:

*Hany Dahy; Minister of Transport

*Khaled Fahmy; Minister of Environment

*Sameh Shoukry; Minister of Foreign Affairs

*Gaber Asfour; Minister of Culture

*Naglaa El-Ahwany; Minister of International Cooperation

*Ashraf Salman; Minister of Investment

*Mahfouz Saber; Minister of Justice

*Sayed Abdel-Khalek; Minister of Higher Education

*Ibrahim El-Henedy; Minister of Transitional Justice and Parliamentary Affairs

*Adel Tawfiq El-Beltagy; Minister of Agriculture

*Mamdouh al-Damati; Minister of Antiquities

*Sherif Hamad; Minister of Scientific Research

*Hossam Mohammed Moghazi; Minister of Water and Irrigation

*Laila Iskandar; Minister of State for Urban Development

Mohamed Ibrahim; Minister of Interior

Sedki Sobhi; Minister of Defence and Military Production

Mohamed Shaker; Minister of Electricity and Renewable Energy

Hisham Zaazou; Minister of Tourism

Atef Helmy; Minister of Information and Communication

Mounir Fakhry Abdel-Nour; Minister of Trade and Industry

Ashraf El-Araby; Minister of Planning and Administrative Reform

Sherif Ismail; Minister of Petroleum and Mineral Resources

Mokhtar Gomaa; Minister of Religious Endowments

Mahmoud Abou El-Nasr; Minister of Education

Nahed al-Ashri; Minister of Workforce and Migration

Khaled Abdel-Aziz; Minister of Sports and Youth

Ibrahim Younis; Minister of State for Military Production

Adel El-Adawy; Minister of Health

Mostafa Madbouly; Minister of Housing and Utilities

Khaled Hanafy; Minister of Supply

Ghada Wali; Minister of Social Solidarity

Mohamed Hossam Kamal; Minister of Civil Aviation

Adel Labib; Minister of Local Development

Hany Kadre Demean; Minister of Finance

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact