Emir swears in new Cabinet


Emir Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Sabah has sworn in a new Cabinet of sixteen members, with ten new faces in the line-up.

Prime Minister H.H. Sheikh Jaber Al-Mubarak Al-Sabah concluded unsuccessful talks with the opposition, who were insisting on holding nine Cabinet seats and went on to form the Cabinet without their support. The opposition, emboldened by substantial gains in the recent election, immediately condemned the new Cabinet and said that it would be short lived.

The 50 member National Assembly held its first meeting of the new parliament today with a contest for the role of Speaker between pro-government Mohammad Al-Juwaihel, liberal Mohammad Al-Sager and opposition stalwart Ahmad Al-Saadoun.

The line-up of the new Cabinet is as follows:

Sheikh Ahmad Al-Humoud Al-Sabah First Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for the Interior
Sheikh Ahmad Al-Khaled Al-Sabah Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Defence
Sheikh Mohammad Al-Mubarak Al-Sabah Minister for Information
Mustafa Al-Shamali Minister of Finance
Hani Abdulaziz Hussein Minister for Oil
Jamal Al-Shehab Minister of Justice, Awqaf and Islamic Affairs
Ahmad Al-Rujaib Minister of Social Affairs and Labour
Sheikh Sabah Al-Khaled Al-Sabah Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for Foreign Affairs and
  Minister of State for Cabinet Affairs
Salem Al-Othaina Minister for Communications
Dr Fadhel Safar Minister of Public Works and Minister of State for Planning
  and Development Affairs
Shuaib Al-Muwaizri Minister of State for Housing and National Assembly Affairs
Anas Khalid Al-Saleh Minister of Commerce and Industry
Dr Ali Saad Al-Obeidi Minister of Health
Abdulaziz Abdulatif Al-Ibrahim Minister of Electricity and Water and Minister of State
for Municipal Affairs
Dr Nayef Falah Al-Hajraf Minister of Education and Minister of Higher Education
Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com