Erna Solberg appoints 18 member Cabinet


The new Prime Minister of Norway, Erna Solberg, has announced her new Cabinet. There are eighteen ministers in the new Cabinet, nine of which are women and nine men. The coalition government is made up of the Conservative Party (Høyre) with 11 members of the Cabinet and the Progress Party (FrP) with seven Cabinet ministers.

Although the two parties are forming a minority government they have the support of two smaller right wing parties.

The new Cabinet as posted on the government website is as follows:

Erna Solberg Prime Minister
Siv Jensen Minister of Finance
Jan Tore Sanner Minister of Local Government and Modernisation
Vidar Helgesen Minister at the Office of the Prime Minister, responsible for EEA Affairs
and EU Relations, also Chief of Staff at the Office of the Prime Minister
Ketil Solvik-Olsen Minister of Transport and Communication
Børge Brende Minister of Foreign Affairs
Thorhild Widvey Minister of Culture and Church Affairs
Elisabeth Aspaker Minister of Fisheries, also minister of Nordic cooperation affairs
Kristine (Tine) Sundtoft Minister of Climate and the Environment
Monica Mæland Minister of Trade and Industry
Solveig Horne Minister of Children, Equality and Social Inclusion
Bent Høie Minister of Health and Care Services
Robert Eriksson Minister of Labour and Social Affairs
Anders Anundsen Minister of Justice and Public Security
Tord Lien Minister of Petroleum and Energy
Ine Marie Eriksen Søreide Minister of Defence
Sylvi Listhaug Minister of Agriculture and Food
Torbjørn Røe Isaksen Minister of Education and Research

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact