Fico announces new Cabinet


As a result of the general election on 10th March, prime minister designate, Robert Fico has been assembling his new government. The list includes mainly Smer-SD members, but also four independents. The new government will take office on 4th April. The full list of new Cabinet ministers is listed below:

Peter Žiga Minister of Environment
Tomáš Borec Minister of Justice
Peter Kažimír Minister of Finance
L’ubomir Jahnátek Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development
Marek Maďarič Minister of Culture
Martin Glváč Minister of Defence
Ján Valko Minister of Economic Affairs (unconfirmed)
Ján Richter Minister of Labour, Social Affairs and Family
Tomáš Borec Minister of Justice
Robert Kaliňák Interior Minister
Dušan Čaplovič Minister of Education, Science, Research and Sport
Miroslav Lajčák Minister of Foreign Affairs
Zuzana Zvolenská Health Minister
Stanislav Becík Agriculture Minister (unconfirmed)
Ján Počiatek Minister of Transport, Construction and Regional Development
Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact