South Africa

FinMin goes in major Cabinet reshuffle


President Jacob Zuma has carried out a major reshuffle of his Cabinet. The major casualty is the highly respected Finance Minister Pravin Gordhan who has gone after days of speculation. Gordhan had a reputation for standing up to the president in Cabinet and of being against corruption.

Meanwhile the main opposition Democratic Alliance has said that it will call a vote of no confidence against the president in parliament. Another opposition group, the Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) has filed papers with the Constitutional Court in an attempt to get the president impeached.

The formal press release of the Cabinet reshuffle as published on the South African Government News Agency website is as follows:

“President Zuma reshuffles cabinet

Pretoria – President Jacob Zuma has made changes to the National Executive in order to improve efficiency and effectiveness.

“The changes bring some younger MPs and women into the National Executive in order to benefit from their energy, experience and expertise.

“I have directed the new Ministers and Deputy Ministers to work tirelessly with their colleagues to bring about radical socio-economic transformation and to ensure that the promise of a better life for the poor and the working class becomes a reality,” the President said in a statement in the early hours of Friday morning.

The changes are as follows;


1. Minister of Energy, Mmamoloko “Nkhensani” Kubayi

2. Minister of Transport, Joe Maswanganyi

3. Minister of Finance, Malusi Gigaba

4. Minister of Police, Fikile Mbalula

5. Minister of Public Works, Nathi Nhleko,

6. Minister of Sports and Recreation, Thembelani Nxesi

7. Minister of Tourism, Tokozile Xasa

8. Minister of Public Service and Administration, Faith Muthambi

9. Minister of Home Affairs, Prof Hlengiwe Mkhize

10. Minister of Communications, Ayanda Dlodlo

Deputy Ministers

1. Deputy Minister of Public Service and Administration, Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba

2. Deputy Minister of Finance, Sifiso Buthelezi

3. Deputy Minister of Public Enterprises, Ben Martins

4. Deputy Minister of Arts and Culture, Maggie Sotyu

5. Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry, Gratitude Magwanishe

6. Deputy Minister of Communications, Thandi Mahambehlala,

7. Deputy Minister of Tourism, Elizabeth Thabethe

8. Deputy Minister of Police, Bongani Mkongi

9. Deputy Minister of Telecommunications and Postal Services, Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams

10. Deputy Minister of Small Business Development, Nomathemba November

“I wish to extend my gratitude to the outgoing Ministers and Deputy Ministers for their service to the country. I also wish the new Ministers and Deputy Ministers the best in their new responsibilities,” the President said. –”

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact