First Ministers appointed amidst internal squabbles


The first ministers have been announced as Nepal’s new prime minister, Pushpa Kamal Dahal (also known as Prachanda), takes office. Despite the early appointments the Kathmandu Post reports that there have been arguments about other appointments with at least one potential minister refusing to be sworn in because he wasn’t offered his preferred ministry.

From the CPN (Maoist Center):

Krishna Bahadur Mahara; Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance

Daljit Shreepali; Minister of Youth and Sports

Gauri Shankar Chaudhary; Minister of Agriculture

From the Nepali Congress:

Bimalendra Nidhi; Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Home Affairs

Ramesh Lekhak; Minister of Physical Infrastructure and Transportation

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact