Five new ministers agreed by lower house


Afghanistan’s lower house of parliament also known as House of the People has confirmed five new appointments to the Cabinet of President Hamid Karzai.

The five new ministers agreed by the lower house were:

Zarar Ahmad Muqbil Osmani; Minister of Foreign Affairs

Mohammad Shakir Kargar; Minister of Commerce and Industries

Mohammad Arif Noorzai; Minister of Energy and Water

Alhaj Mohamamd Baraka; Minister of Mines and Petroleum

Din Mohammad Mubariz; Minister of Counter-narcotics

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact