Four ministers sworn in


President Mamnoon Hussain has sworn in four new ministers into the government as of yesterday according to a report on the Associated Press of Pakistan (APP) website. The report on the APP website is as follows:

“President administers oath to four new ministers

ISLAMABAD, Jan 16 (APP): President Mamnoon Hussain on Thursday administered oath of office to four new ministers. Akram Khan Durrani, Abbas Afridi and Engineer Khurram Dastgir took oath as Federal Ministers at a ceremony held here at the Aiwan-e-Sadr. Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri took oath as Minister of State.”

Akram Khan Durrani has been designated as Federal Minister for Communications since August 2013 but has only just been sworn in and comes from the Jamiat-Ulema-Islam (F) (JUI-F). Other ministers from the JUI-F have also been sworn in; the party had held back from joining the government for about six months but has now committed, although it has reserved the right to criticise the government on areas of policy with which it disagrees.

Abbas Afridi is from the Federally Administered Tribal Areas (Fata) and was previously a minister in the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) led administration which lost the general election in May last year.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact