Full list of new Cabinet


Prime Minister Narendra Modi has carried out a long awaited Cabinet reshuffle, even though his first Cabinet was only formed in May this year after the general election.

The Prime minister has taken on a number of portfolios including Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions; Department of Atomic Energy, Department of Space and all important policy issues and all other portfolios not allocated to any Minister.

Arun Jaitley, who had acted as Finance and Defence Minister, is now the Minister of Finance, Corporate Affairs, Information & Broadcasting. Manohar Parrikar, a former metallurgical engineer and Chief Minister of Goa until yesterday, is now the Minister of defence.

There are 26 Cabinet Ministers and 38 Ministers of State in the new government.

You can read the full list of Cabinet and State Ministers here.

The full list of Cabinet Ministers as published on the Press Information Bureau of India website is as follows:

Narendra Modi Prime Minister
Rajnath Singh Minister of Home Affairs
Sushma Swaraj Minister of External Affairs, Overseas Indian Affairs
Arun Jaitley Minister of Finance, Corporate Affairs, Information & Broadcasting
M. Venkaiah Naidu Minister of Urban Development, Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation
and Parliamentary Affairs
Nitin Jairam Gadkari Minister of Road Transport and Highways, Shipping
Manohar Parrikar Minister of Defence
Suresh Prabhu Minister of Railways
D.V. Sadananda Gowda Minister of Law & Justice
Sushri Uma Bharati Minister of Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation
Dr. Najma A. Heptulla Minister of Minority Affairs
Ramvilas Paswan Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution
Kalraj Mishra Minister of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises
Maneka Sanjay Gandhi Minister of Women and Child Development
Ananth Kumar Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers
Ravi Shankar Prasad Minister of Communications and Information Technology
Jagat Prakash Nadda Minister of Health & Family Welfare
Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pusapati Minister of Civil Aviation
Anant Geete Minister of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises
Harsimrat Kaur Badal Minister of Food Processing Industries
Narendra Singh Tomar Minister of Mines, Steel
Chaudhary Birender Singh Minister of Rural Development, Panchayati Raj, Drinking Water and Sanitation
Jual Oram Minister of Tribal Affairs
Radha Mohan Singh Minister of Agriculture
Thaawar Chand Gehlot Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment
Smriti Zubin Irani Minister of Human Resource Development
Dr. Harsh Vardhan Minister of Science and Technology, Earth Sciences

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact