Sri Lanka

Full list of new Cabinet


President Maithripala Sirisena appointed a 27 member Cabinet yesterday with a further 10 Ministers of State and eight Deputy Ministers. The President retained the Defence portfolio and had earlier appointed Arjuna Mahendran as the new Governor of Sri Lanka’s Central Bank.

The President made it clear that this was an interim Cabinet saying “This is only a temporary Cabinet appointed to ensure the successful completion of the 100-day programme. Thereafter we will go for a General Election which should be kept in mind when serving the people to the best of their ability. I want all ministers to work efficiently and be always mindful that we will not tolerate any form of corruption or unethical behavior.”

The full list of the new Cabinet as published on the Presidency’s Presinform website is as follows:

Ranil Wickremesinghe Prime Minister, Minister of Economic Development, Reconciliation,
Policy Development and Economic Affairs
John Amaratunga Minister of Public Order, Disaster Management Christian Affairs
Joseph Michael Perera Minister of Home Affairs
Gamini Jayawickrema Perera Minister of Food Security
Mangala Samaraweera Minister of Foreign Affairs
Karu Jayasuriya Minister of Public Administration, Democratic Governance and Buddha Sasana
Lakshman Kiriella Minister of Plantation Industries
Ravi Karunanayake Minister of Finance
Rauff Hakeem Urban Development, Water Supply and Drainage
Champika Ranawaka Minister of Power and Energy
Rajitha Senaratna Minister of Health and Indigenous Medicine
Duminda Dissanayake Minister of Irrigation
Kabir Hasheem Minister of Highways and Investment Promotion
M. K, D. S. Gunawardene Minister of Lands
Sajith Premadasa Minister of Housing and Samurdhi
Wijedasa Rajapaksha Minister of Justice
Gayantha Karunathilaka Minister of Media
Navin Dissanayake Minister of Tourism
Arjuna Ranatunga Minister of Ports and Shipping
Rishad Bathiudeen Minister of Industry and Commerce
Palani Digambaram Minister Plantation Infrastructure Development
D. M. Swaminadan Minister of Resettlement, Reconstruction and Hindu Religious Affairs
Akila Viraj Kariyawasam Minister of Education
Thalatha Athukorala Minister of Foreign Employment
Ranjitha Maddumabandara Minister of Internal Transport
P. Harrison Minister of Social Services and Welfare
Chandrani Bandara Minister of Women’s Affairs
Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact