Golding shuffles Cabinet


Prime Minister Bruce Golding has announced a number of changes to his Cabinet to comply with recommendations made by the Public Sector Transformation Unit.

The Speaker of the House Delroy Chuck is to be the new Minister of Justice, replacing Senator Dorothy Lightbourne. However, the new Justice Minister will not become Attorney General and a new appointment is expected for that but was not included in this reshuffle.

The Prime Minister’s office also announced that with the Speaker moving to the Justice role, the Deputy Speaker, Mrs. Marissa Dalrymple-Phillipbert will be proposed for election as Speaker of the House and Mr. Tarn Peralto as Deputy Speaker.

Other appointments include:

Christopher Tufton – Minister of Industry, Investment & Commerce.

Robert Montaque – Minister of Agriculture & Fisheries.

Clive Mullings – Minister of Energy & Mining.

Arthur Williams – Minister without Portfolio in the Cabinet Office with responsibility for the Public Service.

A number of further positions were announced for changes to the position of Minister of State, these include:

Gregory Mair – Minister of State in the Ministry of Education.

Dr. St. Aubyn Bartlett – Minister of State in the Ministry of National Security.

Othniel Lawrence – Minister of State in the Ministry of Transport & Works.

All of the appointments take effect from today, 1st July 2011.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com