Government collapses after Fatherland withdraws


President Almazbek Atambayev has issued a decree dissolving the current government after the Ata-Meken (Fatherland) party withdrew from the governing coalition yesterday.

Ata-Meken said that Prime Minister Zhantoro Satybaldiev had “exhausted moral and political resources and cannot continue to occupy this high political office” and as a result they were withdrawing from the government.

Kyrgyzstan is the only real democracy within the Central Asian region and has seen three governments since the general election in 2010. The first involved the current president as Prime Minister until his election to President in 2011. A new government was then formed with Respublika, the Social Democratic Party of Kyrgyzstan (SDPK) Ata-Meken and Ar-Namys with 92 seats in the 120 seat Kyrgyzstan Supreme Council. That coalition collapsed in August 2012 as the Ata-Meken and Ata-Zhurt parties withdrew leaving the government without a parliamentary majority.

A new government was formed in September 2012 and involved Ata-Meken (Fatherland) party, the Social Democratic Party of Kyrgyzstan (SDPK) and the Dignity Party (Ar-Namys) with 69 seats in the 120 seat parliament.

The current Cabinet will remain in office until a new government is formed.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact