Junta PM carries out reshuffle


Thailand’s military Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha has carried out a major reshuffle of his junta’s government. There have been twelve changes with seven ministers swapping portfolios. The reshuffle was forced because two ministers resigned after being made privy councillors for the new King.

The new appointments are as follows:

Suwaphan Tanyuvardhana Minister of Justice
Thirakiat Charoensethasilp Minister of Education
Uttama Savanayana Minister of Industry
Atchaka Sibunruang Minister of Science and Technology
Pichet Durongkaveroj Minister of Digital Economy and Society
Panadda Diskul Deputy Education Minister
Omsin Chivapruek Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office
Suvit Maesincee Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office
Chutima Boonyaprapat Deputy Minister of Agriculture
Sonthirat Sonthijirawong Deputy Minister of Commerce
Veerasak Futrakul Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs
Pichit Akrathit Deputy Minister of Transport

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact