Kagame makes Government changes


President Paul Kagame has carried out a limited Cabinet reshuffle in which he merged the Ministries of East African Affairs and Trade and Industry. The President has also merged Internal Security with the Ministry of Justice and dismissed one of his longest serving ministers in the process. The Health Ministry has a new minister and a number of state ministers were also changed.

The full list of changes including Governors of Provinces, Permanent Secretaries, Embassies and other institutions can be found here.

The full list of the new Cabinet with the names of the new Ministries is as follows:

Anastase Murekazi Prime Minister
Dr Geraldine Mukeshimana Minister of Agriculture and Animal Resources:
Dr Vincent Biruta Minister of Natural Resources (Land, Forestry, Environment, and Mining)
Julienne Uwacu Minister of Sports and Culture
James Musoni Minister of Infrastructure
Francis Kaboneka Minister of Local Government
Claver Gatete Minister of Finance and Economic Planning
Fran├žois Kanimbla Minister of Trade, Industry and East Africa Affairs
Dr Diane Gashumba Minister of Health
Johnston Busingye Minister of Justice and Attorney General
Dr Papias Malimba Musafiri Minister of Education
Judith Uwizeye Minister of Public Service and Labour
Louise Mushikiwabo Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation
Esperance Nyirasafali Minister of Gender and Family Promotion
Gen James Kabarebe Minister of Defence
Venantie Tugireyezu Minister in the Office of the Presidency
Stella Ford Mugabo Minister of Cabinet Affairs in the Office of the Prime Minister
Seraphine Mukantabana Minister of Refugees and Disaster Management
Jean Philbert Nsengimana Minister of Youth and ICT
Francis Gatare Chief Executive Officer of Rwanda Development Board (RDB)

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact