Khama reshuffles Cabinet


President Ian Khama has carried out a reshuffle of his Cabinet, bringing in four new faces and splitting up two ministries. The former Ministry of Education and Skills Development has been divided into Basic Education and Tertiary Education, Research, Science and Technology. Meanwhile Water Resources has been hived off from the Ministry of Minerals, Energy and Water Resources and is now part of Land Management, Water and Sanitation Services. The new Cabinet takes up its portfolios on 1st October.

The full list of the Cabinet reshuffle is as follows:

Eric Molale; Minister for Presidential Affairs, Governance and Public Administration

Shaw Kgathi; Minister of Defence, Justice and Security

Patrick Ralotsia; Minister of Agricultural Development and Food Security

Nonofho Molefhi; Minister of Infrastructure and Housing Development

Unity Dow; Minister of Basic Education

Tshekedi Khama; Minister of Environment and Natural Resources, Conservation and Tourism

Kenneth Matambo; Minister of Finance and Economic Development

Pelonomi Venson-Moitoi; Minister of International Affairs and Co-operation

Dorcas Makgato; Minister of Health and Wellness

Mabeo; Minister of Employment, Labour Productivity and Skills Development

Prince Maele; Minister of Land Management, Water and Sanitation Services

Slumber Tsogwane; Minister of Local Government and Rural Development

Sadique Kebonang is Minister of Mineral Resources, Green Technology and Energy Security

Vincent Seretse; Minister of Investment, Trade and Industry

Kitso Mokaila; Minister of Transport and Communications

Thapelo Olopeng; Minister of Youth Empowerment, Sport and Culture Development

Alfred Madigele; Minister of Tertiary Education, Research, Science and Technology

Edwin Batshu; Minister of Nationality, Immigration and Gender Affairs

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact