South Sudan

Kiir rids government of SPLM-IO ministers


Following the resignation of agriculture minister Lam Akol on Monday, President Salva Kiir has replaced all six of Riek Machar’s Sudan People’s Liberation Movement-in-Opposition (SPLM-IO) ministers and two deputy ministers in a government reshuffle. The move by the president would appear to unravel the peace deal signed last year a little further.

The newly appointed ministers are as follows:

Michael Tiangjiek Mut Minister of Interior
Alfred Lado Gore Minister of Land, Housing, and Urban Development
Ezekiel Lul Gat Minister of Petroleum
Yien O.L. Tut Minister of Higher Education
Sofia A. Gai Minister of Water Resources and Irrigation
Gabriel Duop Lam Minister of Labour
Rieu Gatliek Gai Deputy Minister of the Interior
Natake Allan Deputy Minister of Labour

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact