Solomon Islands

Manasseh Sogavare elected Prime Minister


The new parliament of the Solomon Islands has elected Manasseh Sogavare to be the country’s next Prime Minister.

Mr Sogavare won the ballot against Jeremiah Manele by 31 votes to 19.

Manasseh Sogavare (59) served as Prime Minister from 2000 to 2001 and again from 2006 to 2007. In 2007 Mr Sogavare was removed from office when he lost a confidence motion in parliament by 25 votes to 22. He is currently a member of the Ownership, Unity and Responsibility Party (OUR).

Mr Sogavare was Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Finance from 1994 to 1996 and had also served as Commissioner of Inland Revenue, Director of the Central Bank of the Solomon Islands, and Chairman of the Solomon Islands National Provident Fund. He was first elected to the National Parliament in the 1997 general election.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact