Mariano Rajoy names 13 member Cabinet


Spain’s newly appointed Prime Minister, Mariano Rajoy, has announced his 13 member Cabinet which includes six new ministers.

The list of the new Cabinet as derived from several sources is as follows:

Mariano Rajoy Prime Minister
Soraya Saenz de Santamaria Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Territorial Administration
Luis de Guindos Minister of Economy, Industry and Competitiveness
Alfonso Dastis Quecedo Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation
Rafael Catala Minister of Justice and Attorney General
Maria Dolores de Cospedal Minister of Defence
Cristobal Montoro Minister of Finance and Public Functions
Juan Ignacio Zoido Álvarez Minister of Interior
Inigo de la Serna Hernáiz Minister of Development
Inigo Mendez de Vigo Government Spokesman and Minister of Education, Culture and Sports
Maria Fatima Báñez Minister of Employment and Social Security
Álvaro Nadal Belda Minister of Energy, Tourism and Digital Agenda
Isabel García Tejerina Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries, Food and Environment
Dolors Montserrat Minister of Health, Social Security and Equality

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact