Ministers sworn in to election Cabinet


President Abdul Hamid swore in an ‘all-party’ election Cabinet yesterday, comprising six ministers and two deputy ministers. But in reality the new Cabinet is made up of two members of the ruling Awami League (AL, one member of the Workers Party of Bangladesh and five places for AL ally the Jatiya Party.

Although the former Cabinet is said to have resigned, the president has not, as yet, accepted their resignations. Many of the ministers are still occupying their offices adding a new dimension as to the constitutional legality of their positions.

The opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) has rejected the concept of an all-party election Cabinet and instead wants a non-party caretaker Cabinet. They have boycotted the all-party concept and have promised more street protests.

The new ministers sworn in yesterday who have not as yet been given portfolios are:

Awami League; Tofail Ahmed and Amir Hossain Amu

Workers Party of Bangladesh; Rashed Khan Menon

Jatiya Party; Ruhul Amin Hawlader, Rowshan Ershad and Anisul Islam Mahmud. Two more were named as state ministers and they are Mojibul Haque Chunnu and Salma Islam.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact