National Assembly votes for new Cabinet and PM


During the Inaugural meeting of the National Assembly yesterday, following the Cambodian general election on 28th July, the Parliament approved Hun Sen as the Prime Minister for a further term. A new Cabinet was also submitted to the National Assembly and voted into office with the swearing in taken at the same time.

The opening of the new parliament was boycotted by the 55 members of the Sam Rainsy led Cambodia National Rescue Party (CNRP) and the election took place with only the 68 members of the ruling the Cambodian People’s Party (CPP) in attendance.

The parliament also created 13 new positions for ministers delegated to the prime minister and the full list of new ministers including the cabinet can be found here.

The line-up of the new Cabinet as published on the Agence Kampuchea Presse website is as follows:

Samdech Akka Moha Sena Padei Techo Hun Sen; Prime Minister

Sar Kheng; Minister of Interior

Tea Banh; Minister of National Defense

Hor Namhong; Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation

Aun Porn Moniroth; Minister of Economy and Finance

Ouk Rabun; Minister of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries

Chea Sophara; Minister of Rural Development

Sun Chanthol; Minister of Commerce

Cham Prasidh; Minister of Industry, Mines and Energy

Chhay Than; Minister of Planning

Hang Chuon Naron; Minister of Education, Youth and Sports

Vorng Saut; Minister of Social Affairs, Veterans and Youth Rehabilitation

Im Chhun Lim; Minister of Land Management, Urban Planning and Construction

Say Samal; Minister of Environment

Lim Kean Hor; Minister of Water Resources and Meteorology

Khieu Kanharith; Minister of Information

Ang Vong Vathana; Minister of Justice

Ms. Men Sam An; Minister of National Assembly-Senate Relations and Inspection

Prak Sokhonn; Minister of Posts and Telecommunications

Mam Bun Heng; Minister of Health

Tram Iv Tek; Minister of Public Works and Transport

Ms. Phoeung Sakona; Minister of Culture and Fine Arts

Thong Khon; Minister of Tourism

Min Khin; Minister of Cults and Religions

Ms. Ing Kantha Phavi; Minister of Women Affairs

Ith Sam Heng; Minister of Labor and Vocational Training

Pich Bunthin; Minister of Public Functions.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact