New Cabinet agreed


President Hassan Sheikh Mohamud and his new Prime Minister, Omar Abdirashid Ali Sharmarke, have named a new Cabinet. The new Cabinet has 26 Cabinet members, nine Ministers of State and 25 Deputy Ministers, giving the new government 60 ministers.

The full list of the new Cabinet as published on the Somali Current website is as follows:

Mohamed Omar Arte Deputy Prime Minister
Abikarim Hussien Guled Minister of Interior and Federalism
Hussein Abdi Halane Minister of Finance
Mohamed Sheikh Hassan Minister of Defense
Abdulahi Mohamed Ali Minster of National Security
Abdukadir Sheikh Ibrahim Minister for Religious Affairs
Abdikadir Abdi Gaabane Minister for Constitutional Affairs
Abdirahman Duale Beyle Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Co-operation
Abdulah Ahmed Jama Ilka jiir Minister of Education
Yusuf Moalin Amin Minister of Ports and Marine Transport
Mohamud Ali Magan Minister of Planning
Farah Sheikh Abdulkadir Mohamed Minister of Justice
Mustaf Ali Duhulow Minister of Information
Abdulahi Sheikh Ismail Minister of Air and Land Transport
Mohamed Abdi Hayir Minster of Power and Electricity
Abdalla Boos Ahmed Minister of Posts and Telecommunications
Husien Mohamed Shiekh Minister of Agriculture
Ahmedy Shiekh Mukhtar Minister of Sports and Youth
Nadifo Maxamed Cusman Minister of Reconstruction
Abdurahman Abdi Osman Minister of Industry and Commerce
Mohamed Omar Aymow Minister of Public Works
Khadijo Mohamed Diriye Minister of Women and Human Rights
Mohamed Mukhtar Ibrahim Minister of Fisheries and Marine Resources
Daud Mohamed Omar Minister of Mineral Resources
Abukar Abdi Osman Minister of Environment and Livestock
Siciid Husien Eid Minister of Health

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact