New Cabinet agreed along with Constitution


Prime Minister-designate Mehdi Jomaâ has announced his new Cabinet. The Cabinet consists of 28 members, 21 Ministers and seven Secretaries of State. The announcement was almost cancelled on Saturday night when some parties objected to the re-appointment of Lotfi Ben Jeddou as Minister of the Interior.

Lotfi Ben Jeddou was the Interior Minister when opposition politician Chokri Belaid had been assassinated and it was felt inappropriate that he should remain in the job. Finally a compromise appears to have been reached whereby a new post of Minister Delegate to the Minister of the Interior in charge of Security was created and given to Ridha Sfar

Mehdi Jomaâ and his new Cabinet will require the approval of the National Constituent Assembly, sometime next week. They will then take over from Ali Larayedh’s government on 3rd March.

Meanwhile, the National Constituent Assembly voted by 200 for, 12 against and four abstentions to pass the new Constitution of Tunisia on Sunday night. You can find an unofficial translation of the constitution by the Jasmine Foundation here.

The full list of the new Cabinet as published on the Agence Tunis Afrique Presse (TAP) website is as follows:

Hafedh Ben Salah Minister of Justice, Human Rights and Transitional Justice
Lotfi Ben Jeddou Minister of the Interior
Ghazi Jeribi Minister of National Defence
Mongi Hamed Minister of Foreign Affairs
Hakim Ben Hammouda Minister of Economy and Finance
Kamel Bennaceur Minister of Industry, Energy and Mining
Lassaad Lachaal Minister of Agriculture
Najla Harrouche Minister of Trade and Handicrafts
Ahmed Ammar Yanbai Minister of Social Affairs
Taoufik Jelassi Minister of Higher Education, Scientific Research and ICT
Fathi Jarray Minister of Education
Mohamed Salah Ben Ammar Minister of Health
Chiheb Ben Ahmed Minister of Transport
Hedi Larbi Minister of Equipment, Spatial Planning and
Sustainable Development
Hafedh Laamouri Minister of Employment and Vocational Training
Mounir Tlili Minister of Religious Affairs
Saber Bouatay Minister of Youth, Sports, Women and Family
Amel Karboul Minister of Tourism
Mourad Sakli Minister of Culture
Nidhal Ouerfelli Minister to the Prime Minister, in charge of Co-ordination and
Monitoring Economic Affairs
Ridha Sfar Minister Delegate to the Minister of Interior in charge of Security
Anouar Ben Khlifa Secretary of State to the Prime Minister, in charge of Governance
and Public Service
Abderrazek Ben Khlifa Secretary of State for Regional and local Affairs
Fayçal Gouiaa Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs
Neila Chaabane Hammouda Secretary of State in charge of Women and Family
Noureddine Zekri Secretary of State for Development and International Co-operation
Mohamed Karim Jamoussi Secretary of State for State Domains
Mounir Mejdoub Secretary of State for Sustainable Development

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com