New Cabinet announced


Prime Minister Mariano Rajoy has named his thirteen member Cabinet. The new Minister of Justice, Alberto Ruiz Gallardón was, until his swearing in, the Mayor of Madrid; he has now resigned from that position.

The new Minister of Finance and Public Administration, Cristóbal Montoro Romero, has a doctorate in Economics and was Minister of Finance between 2000 and 2004.

The new Minister of Economy and Competitiveness, Luis de Guindos Jurado, is also an economist and was the Secretary of State for Economic Affairs in the last government of José María Aznar between 2000 and 2004.

The full list of Cabinet ministers as published in El Pais is as follows:

José Manuel García Margallo Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation
Alberto Ruiz Gallardón Minister of Justice
Pedro Morenés Eulate Minister of Defence
Cristóbal Montoro Romero Minister of Finance and Public Administration
Jorge Fernández Díaz Interior Minister
Ana Pastor Julián Minister of Development
José Ignacio Wert Ortega Minister of Education, Culture and Sports
María Fátima Bañez García Minister of Employment and Social Security
José Manuel Soria Minister of Industry, Energy and Tourism
Miguel Arias Cañete Minister of Agriculture, Food and Environment
Soraya Sáenz de Santamaría Antón Minister of the Presidency
Luis de Guindos Jurado Minister of Economy and Competitiveness
Ana Mato Adrover Minister of Health, Social Services and Equality
Soraya Sáenz de Santamaría Antón Deputy Prime Minister and Minister Spokesman
Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact