New Cabinet appointed


President Toomas Hendrik Ilves has appointed a new government with Taavi Rõivas as the new Prime Minister.

Taavi Rõivas’s Reform Party and Social Democratic Party have formed the new coalition government after the retirement of Prime Minister Andrus Ansip on 4th March. Reform holds eight portfolios to the Social Democrats five portfolios.

The new government has committed to reducing the individual income tax rate as well as increasing the tax threshold and lowering the unemployment insurance rate. The government has also committed to keeping defence spending to 2% of GDP.

The new government as announced on the president’s website is as follows:

Taavi Rõivas; Prime Minister
Jevgeni Ossinovski; Minister of Education and Research
Andres Anvelt; Minister of Justice and Agriculture
Sven Mikser; Minister of Defence
Keit Pentus-Rosimannus; Minister of the Environment
Urve Tiidus; Minister of Culture
Urve Palo; Minister of Economic Affairs and Communications
Jürgen Ligi; Minister of Finance
Hanno Pevkur; Minister of the Interior and for Regional Affairs
Helmen Kütt; Minister of Social Affairs
Urmas Paet; Minister of Foreign Affairs
Urmas Kruuse; Minister
Anne Sulling; Minister

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact