New Cabinet named


Prime Minister Designate Hisham Qandeel has named his new Cabinet all of whom are likely to be sworn in later today. The new Cabinet has 35 members including eight Ministers of State.

Field Marshal Tantawi has been retained as the Minister of Defence and the Finance and Foreign ministers from the interim government have also been retained.

The new prime minister said that he had selected the people based upon their ability to do the job and not according to their religion. He said that he did not see people as Muslims or Coptic or Christians but as Egyptians citizens.

The list of Cabinet ministers as published so far is as follows:

Field Marshal Mohamed Hussein Tantawi Defense Minister
Ahmed Gamal al-Din Interior Minister
Mohamed Kamel Amr Foreign Minister
Mumtaz al-Saeed Finance Minister
Osama Saleh Investment Minister
Osama Kamal Oil Minister
Osama al-Abd Religious Affairs Minister
Mahmoud Balbaa Electricity Minister
Mostafa Mosaad Education Minister
Nadia Zokhary Scientific Research
Nagwa Khalil Insurance and Social Affairs Minister
Hany Mahmoud Communication Minister
Mohamed Bahaa al-Din Irrigation Minister
Hisham Zaazou Tourism Minister
Ahmed Zaky Abdeen Local Development Minister
Khaled Abdel Aziz Environment Minister
Tarek Wafik Housing Minister
Mohamed Rashad al-Mateeny Transportation Minister
Mohamed Mahsoub Parliamentary Affairs Minister
Abu Zeid Mohamed Abu Zeid Supply and Domestic Trade Minister
Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact