New Cabinet positions announced


Denmark’s first female Prime Minister, Helle Thorning-Schmidt has announced this morning the line up for her new Cabinet. As expected, the line-up includes ministers from the three party minority coalition, the Social Democratic Party (SD) of Thorning-Schmidt, the Social Liberal Party (RVB – Radicals) and the Socialist People’s Party (SF). There are to be 23 ministers in the new Cabinet.

The Copenhagen Post reports the following line-up:

Helle Thorning-Schmidt Prime Minister
Margrethe Vestager Economy and Interior Minister
Villy Søvndal Foreign Affairs Minister
Bjarne Corydon Finance Minister
Morten Bødskov Justice Minister
Christian Friis Bach Development Minister
Morten Østergaard Science Minister
Uffe Elbæk Culture Minister
Ole Sohn Business and Growth Minister
Thor Möger Pedersen Tax Minister
Nick Hækkerup Defence Minister
Karen Hækkerup Social Affairs Minister
Astrid Krag Health Minister
Nicolai Wammen European Affairs Minister
Henrik Dam Kristensen Transportation Minister
Mette Frederiksen Employment Minister
Carsten Hansen Urban, Rural, and Housing Minister
Ida Auken Environment Minister
Martin Lidegaard Climate Minister
Christine Antorini Children and Youth Minister
Mette Gjerskov Food, Agriculture and Fisheries Minister
Pia Olsen Dyhr Export and Foreign Trade Minister
Manu Sareen Church, Gender Equality, and Nordic Co-operation Minister
Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact