New Cabinet revealed


Stephen Harper revealed his new government line-up yesterday (18th May 2011) following the general election earlier in the month where the Conservatives secured an overall majority.

Key appointments include Jim Flaherty, who remains as Finance minister. One of his first duties will be to re-introduce the Finance bill, with a few minor changes, which was voted down at the end of the last parliament on 23rd March.

Three other notable changes include Christian Paradis at Industry, Ed Fast at Trade and John Baird, the new Foreign Affairs minister.

The full line up as published on the government website, but without the honorifics and French titles is as follows:

Stephen Joseph Harper Prime Minister
Robert Douglas Nicholson Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada
Marjory LeBreton Leader of the Government in the Senate
Peter Gordon MacKay Minister of National Defence
Vic Toews Minister of Public Safety
Rona Ambrose Minister of Public Works and Government Services and
  Minister for Status of Women
Diane Finley Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development
Beverley J. Oda Minister of International Cooperation
John Baird Minister of Foreign Affairs
Tony Clement President of the Treasury Board and Minister for the Federal
  Economic Development Initiative for Northern Ontario
James Michael Flaherty Minister of Finance
Peter Van Loan Leader of the Government in the House of Commons
Jason Kenney Minister of Citizenship, Immigration and Multiculturalism
Gerry Ritz Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food and Minister for the Canadian Wheat Board
Christian Paradis Minister of Industry and Minister of State (Agriculture)
James Moore Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages
Denis Lebel Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities and
  Minister of the Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec
Leona Aglukkaq Minister of Health and Minister of the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency
Keith Ashfield Minister of Fisheries and Oceans and Minister for the Atlantic Gateway
Peter Kent Minister of the Environment
Lisa Raitt Minister of Labour
Gail Shea Minister of National Revenue
John Duncan Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development
Steven Blaney Minister of Veterans Affairs
Edward Fast Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway
Joe Oliver Minister of Natural Resources
Peter Penashue Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs and President of the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada
Julian Fantino Associate Minister of National Defence
Bernard Valcour Minister of State (Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency)
Gordon O’Connor Minister of State and Chief Government Whip
Maxime Bernier Minister of State (Small Business and Tourism)
Diane Ablonczy Minister of State of Foreign Affairs (Americas and Consular Affairs)
Lynne Yelich Minister of State (Western Economic Diversification)
Steven John Fletcher Minister of State (Transport)
Gary Goodyear Minister of State (Science and Technology) (Federal Economic Development Agency
  for Southern Ontario)
Ted Menzies Minister of State (Finance)
Tim Uppal Minister of State (Democratic Reform)
Alice Wong Minister of State (Seniors)
Bal Gosal Minister of State (Sport)
Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact