Palestinian Territories

New Cabinet sworn in


President Mahmoud Abbas has appointed a new Cabinet all of whom were sworn in yesterday.

President Abbas, the leader of the Fatah Movement has taken the decision more than a year after the last Cabinet resigned in February 2011. A previous decision to appoint a new Cabinet was put on hold as talks between Fatah and their rival Islamic group in the Gaza Strip, Hamas, appeared to go through a reconciliation process in April 2011.

After several high profile signings of agreements the decision was taken to hold elections in the Palestinian Territories in May 2012. Since then there has been little movement on the process towards reconciliation between the two sides and the election date has been and gone.

It is for this reason that President Abbas has decided to go ahead and appoint a Cabinet. A furious Hamas spokesperson said that the move would further divide the two groups. President Abbas has said that if Hamas is prepared to talk then the new government will have no role.

Meanwhile the list of the new government as published on Wafa, the Palestinian News and Information Agency website, is as follows:

Salam Fayyad Prime Minister
Nabil Qassis Minister of Finance (new)
Riad Malki Minister of Foreign Affairs
Said Abu Ali Minister of the Interior
Yousef Abu Safieh Minister of the Environment
Ahmad Majdalani Minister of Labour
Khaled Qawasmi Minister of Local Government
Lamis Alami Minister of Education
Mahmoud Habbash Minister of Muslim affairs and Waqf
Siham Barghouti Minister of Culture
Ali Jarbawi Minister of Higher Education
Majida Masri Minister of Social Affairs
Maher Ghneim Minister of Works and Housing
Rabiha Diab Minister of Women
Issa Qaraqi Minister of Prisoners
Jawad Naji Minister of the Economy
Rola Ma’aiya Minister of Tourism
Safa Nasser Eddin Minister of Telecommunications
Ali Abu Zuhri Minister of Transportation
Adnan Husseini Minister of Jerusalem
Ali Muhanna Minister of Justice
Mahmoud Abu Ramadan State Minister for Planning
Hani Abdeen Minister of Health
Walid Assaf Minister of Agriculture

The list includes eleven new ministers.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact