New government announced in Guinea Bissau


Recently appointed Prime Minister Umaro Sissoco Embaló has announced the members of his Cabinet who were sworn in to office yesterday afternoon. There are 37 members of the government with 24 ministers and 13 Secretaries of State.

The new prime minister and government are the result of the Conakry Agreement which was brokered by the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS). It remains to be seen if the president’s and prime minister’s party, the African Party for the Independence of Guinea and Cape Verde (PAIGC) which is led by former prime minister Domingos Simões Pereira in parliament will accept the new team.

The full list of the Cabinet as derived from a number of sources is as follows:

Umaro Sissoco Embaló Prime Minister
Florentino Mendes Pereira Minister of State, Energy and Industry
Botché Candé Minister of State and Interior
Aristides Ocante da Silva Minister of State, Combatants of the Freedom of the Motherland and
Social Reinsertion
Malal Sané Minister of State, Presidency of the Council of Ministers and
Parliamentary Affairs
João Alage Mamadu Fadia Minister of State for Economy and Finance
Jorge Malu Minister for Foreign Affairs, International Cooperation and Communities
Eduardo da Costa Sanha Minister of National Defence
Rui Sanha Minister of Justice
Victor Luís Pinto Fernandes Mandinga Minister of Commerce and Business Promotion
Marciano Silva Barbeiro Minister of Public Works, Housing and Urban Planning
Sola Nquilim Nabichita Minister of Territorial Administration
Barros Bacar Banjai Minister of Natural Resources
Fernando Vaz Minister of Tourism and Crafts
Tumane Balde Minister for Civil Service, Administrative Reform and Work
Victor Gomes Pereira Minister of Social Communication
Sandji Fati Minister for Education and Higher Education
Carlitos Barai Minister of Public Health
Nicolau dos Santos Minister of Agriculture, Forestry and Livestock
Fidelis Forbs Minister of Transport and Communications
Orlando Viegas Minister of Fisheries
Carlos Alberto Kenedy de Barros Minister of Women, Family and Social Solidarity
Tomás Gomes Barbosa Minister of Culture and Sport
Doménico Oliveira Sanca Minister for Youth and Employment
António Sirifo Embaló Minister for the Environment and Sustainable Development

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact