New government in Croatia


Croatia has a new government. Following on from the 8th November 2015 election which was won by the centre-right Croatian Democratic Union (HDZ) 23 ministers were approved by parliament. The Sabor or parliament voted 83 in favour, 61 against and with five abstentions for the new government.

Of the new ministers seven are from the Bridge of Independent Lists (MOST) and the balance are from the Patriotic Coalition of which the centre-right Croatian Democratic Union (HDZ) is the largest partner. The new government has 79 of the 151 seats in the Sabor or parliament.

You can find a short biography of each minister at Total Croatia News.

There are 23 ministers in the new Cabinet, the full list of which is as follows:

Tihomir Tim Oreškovic Prime Minister
Tomislav Karamarko First Vice President
Božo Petrov Vice President
Tomislav Panenić Minister of Economy
Zdravko Marić Minister of Finance
Miro Kovač Minister of Foreign Affairs
Vlaho Orepic Minister of Interior Affairs
Dubravka Jurlina Alibegovic Minister of Public Administration
Davor Romic Minister of Agriculture
Slaven Dobrović Minister of Environment and Nature Protection
Ante Šprlje Minister of Justice
Mijo Crnoja Minister of Veterans
Zlatko Hasanbegovic Minister of Culture
Lovro Kuščević Minister of Construction
Josip Buljević Minister of Defence
Darko Horvat Minister of Business and Trade
Oleg Butković Minister of Maritime Affairs, Transport and Infrastructure
Tomislav Tolušić Minister of Regional Development and EU Funds
Bernardica Juretić Minister of Social Policy and Youth
Anton Kliman Minister of Tourism
Nada Šikić Minister of Labour and Pension System
Dario Nakić Minister of Healthcare
Predrag Šustar Minister of Science and Education

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact