New interim Cabinet sworn in


The new cabinet of Prime Minister Ibrahim Mahlab was sworn in on Saturday before Interim President Adly Mansour. Most of the ministers in the new Cabinet are the incumbents from the previous Cabinet, but there have been eleven changes.

The new ministers announced as published on the Egyptian government’s State Information Service are as follows:

Major General Ibrahim Younis Minister of Military Production
Wael El Dighwy Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research
Dr. Mohamed Shaker Minister of Electricity
Pilot Hossam Kamal Minister of Civil Aviation
Dr. Khaled Hanafy Minister of Supply
Dr. Nahed Hassan El-Ashry Minister of Manpower and Immigration
Counsellor Mounir Othman Mohamed Minister of Justice
Dr. Ghada Wali Minister of Social Solidarity and Supervisor of the
Social Fund for Development
Dr. Adel Al-Adawy Minister of Health
Dr. Moustafa El Madbouly Minister of Housing
Dr. Hany Qadry Minister of Finance
Ministers who have retained their portfolios are as follows:
Field Marshal Abdel Fattah El Sisi Minister of Defense and Deputy Prime Minister
Major General Mohamed Ibrahim Minister of Interior
Dr. Asheraf El-Arabi Minister of Planning and International Cooperation
Dr. Mohamed Mokhtar Gomaa Minister of Awqaf
Dr. Mohamed Ibrahim Minister of Antiquities
Major General Adel Labib Minister of Local and Administrative Development
Eng. Atef Helmy Minister of Communications and Supervisor of databases
in Administrative Development
Dr. Dorreya Sharaf Eddin Minister of Information
Eng. Sherif Ismael Minister of Petroleum
Eng. Khaled Abdel Aziz Minister of Youth and Sports
Dr. Mahmoud Abul Nassr Minister of Education
Hisham Zaazou Minister of Tourism
Dr. Mohamed Abu Hadeed Minister of Agriculture and Land Reclamation
Munir Fakhry Abdel Nour Minister of Trade, Industry and Investment
Counsellor Amin Al Mahdy Minister of Transitional Justice and House of Representatives Affairs
Ambassador Nabil Fahmy Minister of Foreign Affairs
Dr. Ibrahim El Demery Minister of Transport
Dr. Mohamed Saber Arab Minister of Culture
Dr. Laila Iskandar Minister of Environment
Dr. Mohamed Abdel Muttaleb Minister of Irrigation and Water Resources

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact