New ministers and new ministries


Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has made two ministries into three whilst also making changes to the ministerial structure.

The Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports (MCYS) and Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts are to be restructures and a new Ministry, the Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth is to be formed.

MCYS will be renamed the Ministry of Social and Family Development (MSF) and MICA will be renamed the Ministry of Communications and Information (MCI). The new ministries will come into effect on 1st November 2012.

There are a number of changes being made to ministerial appointments and senior government officials. The changes to the most senior appointments as announced on the government website are as follows:

Tharman Shanmugaratnam will relinquish his appointment as Minister for Manpower. He will remain as DPM and Minister for Finance and Chairman, Monetary Authority of Singapore.

Lui Tuck Yew will relinquish his appointment as 2nd Minister for Foreign Affairs.

S Iswaran will remain in his current appointments. In MTI, he will have specific responsibility for industry related research and development, energy and tourism, while continuing to assist Mr Lim Hng Kiang in other areas of MTI’s work.

Ms Grace Fu Hai Yien will be promoted to full Minister. She will become Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office, 2nd Minister for the Environment and Water Resources and 2nd Minister for Foreign Affairs. She will also assist DPM Teo Chee Hean on population matters.

Dr Yaacob Ibrahim will become the Minister for Communications and Information on 1 Nov 2012. He will continue to be in charge of Muslim Affairs.

The full list of changes can be found here.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact