New ministers named


President Heinz Fischer has sworn in new ministers following the resignation of Vice Chancellor and Finance Minister Josef Pröll.  Mr Pröll (42) had suffered a pulmonary embolism in March.

Foreign Minister Michael Spindelegger retains his post but replaces Mr Pröll as Vice Chancellor and also leader of the Austrian People’s Party.

Maria Fekter who was Interior Minister and is described locally as the Iron Lady for her hard stance on immigration is the new Finance Minister.

Other new ministers are Beatrix Karl at Justice, Johanna Mikl-Leitner at Interior and Karlheinz Töchterle at Science & Technology.

Two new State Secretary’s have been appointed; they are Dr. Wolfgang Waldner at the Foreign Ministry and Sebastian Kurz  for Integration at the Interior Ministry.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact