New old coalition formed


Three parties in the Kyrgyz parliament (Supreme Council) have announced that they are forming a majority government following the collapse of the previous government two weeks ago.

The new coalition is the same as the previous coalition which Ata-Meken withdrew from after a disagreement with the then Prime Minister Jantoro Satybaldiev. The new government will consist of the Social Democratic Party of Kyrgyzstan (SDPK) with 26 seats, Ar-Namys (Dignity) with 25 seats, and Ata-Meken Socialist Party (Homeland) with 18 seats, giving them 69 of the 120 seats in the Supreme Council.

The new coalition is planning to form a government around the title “For Statehood Strengthening” and it has nominated Joomart Otorbaev the current acting Prime Minister to be the new Prime Minister. The new grouping has seven days in which to name a Cabinet and present a programme for government. Joomart Otorbaev has indicated that he won’t make many changes to the old Cabinet.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact