New PM appoints Cabinet


The new Prime Minister of the Bahamas, Perry Christie, has appointed an enlarged Cabinet following the victory of his Progressive Liberal Party (PLP) in Monday’s general election.

The full list of ministers appointed so far is as follows:

Frederick Mitchell Minister of Foreign Affairs and Administration
Alfred Gray Minister of Agriculture, Marine Resources and Local Government
Shane Gibson Minister of Labour and National Insurance
Glenys Hanna Martin Minister of Transport and Aviation
Melanie Griffin Minister of Social Services
Dr Michael Darville Minister of Grand Bahama
Dr Perry Gomez Minister of Health
Kendred Dorsett Minister of Environment and Housing
Daniel Johnson Minister of Youth, Sports and Culture
Hope Strachan Minister of State of Transport and Aviation
Khaalis Role Minister of Investments in the Office of the Prime Minister
Dr Bernard Nottage Minister of National Security and Leader in the House of Assembly
Obediah Wilchcombe Minister of Tourism
Jerome Fitzgerald Minister of Education, Science and Technology
Ryan Pinder Minister of Financial Services
Allyson Maynard Gibson Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs
Damian Gomez Minister of State of Legal Affairs
Michael Halkitis Minister of State of Finance
Keith Bell Minister of State of National Security
Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact