Nine names accepted by Parliament whilst eleven are rejected


President Mohammad Ashraf Ghani has announced that he will submit new names for a tranche of Cabinet minister nominees who have been rejected by Parliament. So far nine names have been approved some of those have been changed after earlier objections. Eleven nominees have been rejected either because of dual citizenship or because of problems related to academic qualifications.

Ministers who have been approved by Parliament are:

Rahmatullah Nabeel; Director General of the Afghan Intelligence – National Directorate of Security

Eklil Hakimi; Minister of Finance

Ferozuddin Feroz; Minister of Public Health

Noor-ul-Haq Ulomi; Minister of Interior

Salahuddin Rabbani; Minister of Foreign Affairs

Sayed Hussain Alemi Balkhi; Minister of Refugees & Repatriation

Daud Shah Saba; Minister of Mines

Nasir Durani; Minister of Rural Rehabilitation and Development

Faiz Mohammad Osmani; Minister of Hajj & Religious Affairs

Ministerial nominees who have been rejected are:

Sher Mohammad Karimi; Ministry of Defence

Khatera Afghan; Ministry of Higher Education

Sardar Mohammad Rahman Oghlo; Ministry of Economy

Mohammad Gul Zalmai Younusi; Ministry of Education

Abbas Basir; Ministry of Public Works

Barna Karimi; Ministry of Telecommunication and Information Technology

Abdul Rahman Salahi; Ministry of Water and Energy

Qamaruddin Shenwari; Ministry of Borders & Tribal Affairs

Faizullah Zaki; Ministry of Transport & Civil Aviation

Sardar Mohammad Rahimi; Ministry of Commerce & Industries

Najeeba Ayubi; Ministry of Women’s Affairs

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact