South Korea

Park replaces seven Cabinet Ministers


President Park Geun-hye has replaced seven of her 17 Cabinet ministers in a long awaited Cabinet reshuffle. The only surprise was that Maritime Minister Lee Joo-young did not lose his post; he has offered to resign following the MV Sewol ferry disaster but it is believed that he is needed in the post to maintain continuity in the aftermath of the tragedy.

Meanwhile Park’s nominee for Prime Minister, Moon Chang-geuk, has run into trouble following apparent controversial remarks he made in a series of lectures some years ago. The previous nominee for the post, Ahn Dae-hee, had to stand down following intense questioning of his financial affairs by parliament. The vacancy has arose because Prime Minister Chung Hong-won stepped down on 27th April following the sinking of a passenger ferry, 6,825-ton MV Sewol.

The list of the new Cabinet Ministers as collated by us from a number of sources is as follows:

Choi Kyoung-hwan; Deputy Prime Minister for Economic Affairs

Kim Myung-soo; Deputy Prime Minister for Educational, Social and Cultural Affairs

Chong Jong-sup; Minister of Security and Public Administration

Choi Yang-hee; Minister of Science, ICT and Future Planning

Chung Sung-keun; Minister of Culture, Tourism and Sports

Kim Hee-Jung; Minister for Gender Equality and Family

Lee Ki-kweon; Minister of Labour

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact