Parliament approves new Government structure


President Htin Kyaw made his inaugural speech in parliament yesterday and received approval for a reduction in the number of ministries in the new government.

The new government will be reduced from 36 to 21 ministries; of those 18 ministries will be run by civilians and three by the military. Although the names of future ministers were presented to parliament yesterday, they still seek parliamentary approval and have not yet been allocated to specific ministries. The names submitted include Aung San Suu Kyi the leader of the National League for Democracy (NLD) which won an overwhelming majority in the 8th November 2015 general election. The new government will take over on 1st April 2016.

The names submitted to parliament yesterday, as published in Frontier Myanmar, were as follows:

Daw Aung San Suu Kyi
Dr Aung Thu
U Thant Zin Maung
Thura U Aung Ko
U Ohn Win
U Thein Swe
U Kyaw Win
U Khin Maung Cho
Dr Myint Htwe
U Win Khaing
Dr Win Myat Aye
U Ohn Maung
Dr Than Myint
Naing Thet Lwin
Dr Pe Myint
Lt Gen Sein Win
Lt Gen Kyaw Swe
Lt Gen Ye Aung

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact