PM and Cabinet sworn in


Sheikh Hasina was sworn in yesterday as the new Prime Minister of Bangladesh after the 5th January general election. She has built a 49 member Council of Ministers (Cabinet) around her from five political parties all of whom were also sworn in.

Her new Cabinet will consist of 29 Ministers and 17 Ministers of State as well as two Deputy Ministers. The prime minister’s Awami League will hold 42 portfolios whilst three will come from the Jatiya Party (Ershad) and one each from the Workers Party of Bangladesh, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal and Jatiya Party (Manju).

There are 28 new faces in the Cabinet and the Jatiya Party finds itself in the strange position of being in the government as well as sitting on the opposition benches. There are just two other parties in the parliament with one seat each sitting in opposition; they are the Tarikat Federation and Bangladesh National Front (BNF).

The 5th January election was badly compromised by the boycott of around 20 opposition parties including the Bangladesh Nationalist party (BNP) led by Khaleda Zia.

The full list of Cabinet ministers along with their portfolios as published by the Cabinet Division is as follows:

Sheikh Hasina; Prime Minister and Minister of Public Administration; Minister of Defence Ministry and the Armed Force Division

Abul Maal Abdul Muhith; Minister of Finance

Amir Hossain Amu; Minister of Industries

Tofail Ahmed; Minister of Commerce

Begum Matia Chowdhury; Minister of Agriculture

Abdul Latif Siddique; Minister of Posts & Telecommunications and Minister of ICT

Syed Ashraful Islam; Minister of LGRD & Cooperatives

Mohammad Nasim; Minister of Health and Family Welfare

Engineer Khandker Mosharraf Hossain; Minister of Expatriates’ Welfare and Oversees Employment

Rashed Khan Menon; Minister of Civil Aviation and Tourism

Principal Matiur Rahman; Minister of Religious Affairs

Engineer Mosharraf Hossain; Minister of Housing and Public Works

AKM Mojammel Haque; Minister of Liberation War Affairs

Mohammad Saidul Haque; Minister of Fisheries and Livestock

Mohd Imajuddin Pramanik; Minister of Jute and Textiles

Obaidul Quader; Minister of Communications

Hasanul Haq Inu; Minister of Information

Anisul Islam Mahmud; Minister of Water Resources

Anwar Hossain Manju; Minister of Environment and Forests

Nurul Islam Nahid; Minister of Education

Shajahan Khan; Minister of Shipping

Anisul Haque; Minister of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs

Mofazzal Hossain Chowdhury; Minister of Maya Relief and Disaster Management

Mujibul Hoque; Minister of Railways

AHM Mostafa Kamal; Minister of Planning

Mustafizur Rahman; Minister of Primary and Mass Education

Asaduzzaman Noor; Minister of Cultural Affairs

Syed Mahsin Ali; Minister of Social Welfare

Shamsur Rahman Sharif; Minister of Land

Quamrul Islam; Minister of Food

Mujibul Haque; Minister of State for Labour and Employment

Yeafesh Osman; Minister of State for Science and Technology

MA Mannan; Minister of State for Finance

Mirza Azam; Minister of State for Jute and Textiles

Promode Mankin; Minister of State for Social Welfare

Bir Bahadur; Minister of State for Chittagong Hill Tracts Affairs

Narayan Chandra Chanda; Minister of State for Fisheries and Livestock

Biren Sikder; Minister of State for Youth and Sports

Asaduzzaman Khan; Minister of State for Home Affairs

Saifuzzaman Chowdhury Javed; Minister of State for Land

Ismat Ara Sadek; Minister of State for Primary and Mass Education

Meher Afroj Chumki; Minister of State for Women and Children Affairs

Mashiur Rahman Ranga; Minister of State for Rural Development and Cooperatives Division

Shahriar Alam; Minister of State for Foreign Affairs

Jahid Malek; Minister of State for Health and Family Welfare

Nasrul Hamid Bipu; Minister of State for Power Division

Junaed Ahmed Palak; Minister of State for ICT

Abdullah Al Islam Jacob; Deputy Minister of Water Resources

Arif Khan Joy; Deputy Minister of Youth and Sports.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact