PM announces new Cabinet


Italy’s new Prime Minister, Paolo Gentiloni, has acted quickly to form his Cabinet following his appointment on Sunday by President Sergio Mattarella. Many of the Cabinet have retained their portfolios from Matteo Renzi’s government and, although sworn in yesterday, they still have to receive the confidence of both houses of parliament.

The full list of the new Cabinet as published on the prime minister’s website is as follows:

Paolo Gentiloni Prime Minister
Maria Eelena Boschi Secretary to the Cabinet
Angelino Alfano Minister of Foreign Affairs
Marco Minniti Minister of the Interior
Andrea Orlando Minister of Justice
Roberta Pinotti Minister of Defence
Pier Carlo Padoan Minister of Economy and Finance
Carlo Calenda Minister of Industry
Maurizio Martina Minister of Agriculture, Food and Forestry
Gianluca Galletti Minister of Environment, protection of land and sea
Graziano Delrio Minister of Transport and Infrastructure
Giuliano Poletti Minister of Labour and Social Policy
Valeria Fedeli Minister of Education, Universities and Research
Dario Franceschini Minister of, Heritage, Culture and Tourism
Beatrice Lorenzin Minister of Health
Ministers without Portfolio
Anna Finocchiaro Minister responsible for Relations with Parliament
Marianna Madia Minister of Public Administration and Simplification
Enrico Costa Minister of Regional Affairs
Claudio De Vincenti Minister for Territorial Cohesion and the South
Mezzogiorno Luca Lotti Minister of Sport

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact