PM clears out Cabinet


Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn carried out a major clear out of his Cabinet yesterday keeping just nine ministers and introducing 21 new ministers in a major Cabinet reshuffle. The new Cabinet has ten professors, doctors or engineers amongst its ranks with most coming from academic or professional backgrounds. There are also nine members from the Oromiya region where riots occurred earlier this month over land grabs and political rights. There were also protests in the capital which led the prime minister to introduce a state of emergency for six months.

The full list of the changes as published on the Ethiopian News Agency website is as follows:

Remaining Ministers:
Demeke Mekonnen Deputy Prime Minister
Siraj Fegessa Minister of Defence
Kassa Tekleberhan Minister of Federal Affairs and Pastoral Area Development
Dr Debretsion Gebremichael Minister of Communication and Information Technology
Ahmed Abitew Minister of Industry
Getachew Ambaye Federal Attorney General
Abdulfetah Abdulah Minister of Labour and Social Affairs
Dr Yinager Dese Commissioner for National Planning Commission
Asmelash Woldesilasie Chief Government Whip
New Ministers:
Worqneh Gebeyehu Minister of Foreign Affairs
Tagesse Chafo Minister of Public Service and Human Resource Development
Abrham Tekeste Minister of Finance and Economic Cooperation
Bekele Gulado Minister of Trade
Prof. Fekadu Beyene Minister of Livestock and Fishery Resources
Dr. Iyasu Abrha Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources
Dr. Engineer Getahun Mukuria Minister of Science and Technology
Amhed Shide Minister of Transport
Ambachew Mekonnen Minister of Urban Development and Housing
Engineer Ayisha Mohammed Minister of Construction
Dr. Eng. Shileshi Bekele Minister of Water, Irrigation and Electricity
Motuma Mekasa Minister of Mines, Petroleum and Natural Gas
Dr. Gemedo Dale Minister of Environment, Forest Development and Climate Change
Dr. Shiferaw Tekle-Mariam Minister of Education
Prof. Yifru Birhane Minister of Health
Dr. Girma Amante Minister of Public Enterprises
Dr. Hirut Waldemariam Minister of Culture and Tourism
Damitu Hambissa Minister of Children and Women
Hiristu Yirdaw Minister of Youth and Sports
Kebede Chane Minister of Ethiopian Revenues and Customs Authority
Dr. Nageri Lencho Minister of Government Communications Affairs Office

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact